Skip Navigation

Brooklyn '79

DATES January 28, 1979 through March 04, 1979
There are currently no digitized images of this exhibition. If images are needed, contact
  • October 13, 1978 Entries are due no later than Wednesday, November 15, for participation in Brooklyn ‘79, a juried exhibition of paintings and sculpture by living Brooklyn artists to be shown in the Community Gallery of The Brooklyn Museum from January 28 through March 4, 1979. Resident Borough artists are invited to submit to the Community Gallery 35mm color slides of no more than two works -- one slide for each painting, two slides for each sculpture. There is an entry fee of $5.00 per artist. Selection will be made by the Community Gallery Advisory Committee.

    For complete information and entry forms, interested artists are asked to call the Community Gallery at 638-5000, ext. 229. Forms are also available in the Lobby of The Brooklyn Museum, Eastern Parkway and Washington Avenue.

    Brooklyn Museum Archives. Records of the Department of Public Information. Press releases, 1971 - 1988. 1978, 025.
    View Original
  • January 15, 1979 BROOKLYN ‘79, an exhibition of paintings and sculpture by fifty-one Brooklyn artists, will be on view in the Community Gallery of The Brooklyn Museum from January 28 through March 4. An artists reception will be held Sunday, January 28, from 1 to 4 P.M. Admission to The Brooklyn Museum is free.

    In this fourth juried competition sponsored by the Community Gallery, Brooklyn artists were invited to submit slide entries of paintings and sculpture. The fifty-one participating artists were selected by members of the Community Gallery Advisory Committee from approximately 550 works entered by 282 artists. The independent Advisory Committee’s twenty-three members are from the diverse neighborhoods of Brooklyn, many are artists and all share a deep commitment to the Gallery’s encouragement of the creativity of local artists. Committee members are: Harriet Holden-Nash (Chairwoman), Naomi Bossom, Virginia Cantarella, Dale Chisman, Cynthia Dantzic, Elizabeth Delson, Spencer Depas, Russell Drisch, Ingebourg Farrar, Theodore Gunn, Julia Hotton, Turlough McConnell, Barbara Carter Mitchell, Rae Morrock, Susan O’Malley, Guy Patterson, John Rhoden, Herbert Scott-Gibson, Daphne Sheppard, Michael Sherker, Abram Schlemowitz, Charlene Victor, and Raquel R. Weisberger.

    “This annual juried exhibition,” states Richard Waller, Coordinator of the Community Gallery, “highlights the diversity of the work of our Brooklyn artists. Since its beginning, the Gallery has encouraged artists and involved the diverse communities of the Borough by providing professional exhibition[s] for community artists within the Museum. However, many of our artists are not directly involved in the community groups or organizations that are accepted for exhibitions in the Gallery, and this juried competition opens the way for unaffiliated individual artists from throughout the Borough to exhibit in the Museum. Our artists look forward to this annual opportunity to exhibit, which also gives our audience a chance to see a cross-section of the paintings and sculpture being created in Brooklyn by contemporary resident artists.”

    Participating artists are: Edith L. Abrams (Midwood), Doris C. Acosta (Park Slope), Roxane Ahkao (Flatbush), Robert Axelrod (Park Slope), Mary Constance Bangs (Fort Greene), Charles Bell (Park Slope), Robert Bell (Park Slope), Linda Butti Benincasa (Sheepshead Bay), Amir Bey (Boerum Hill), Janet L. Bohman (Prospect Lefferts Gardens), Leonard Borenstein (Boerum Hill), Sally Brody (Brooklyn Heights), Laura Brown (Midwood), Lewis Bryden (Brooklyn Heights), John S. Caggiano (Clinton Hill), Mary Campbell (Clinton Hill), Domenick Capobianco (Vinegar Hill), Eddie Earl Cato (Park Slope), Niles Cruz (Park Slope), Ann Dingledy (Park Slope), Theodore D. Donaldson (Flatlands), Sante D’Orazio (Flatbush), Richard Eagan (Park Slope), Guy J. Elie (East Flatbush), Joseph Essig (Flatbush), Selma Fink (Brooklyn Heights), Gilbert D. Fletcher (Fort Greene), Susan Gardner (Boerum Hill), Maria Grodnitzka (Brighton Beach), Carlton B. Ingleton (Crown Heights), Ethel Isaacs (Canarsie), Hisako Kobayashi (Clinton Hill), Mary LaRosa (East Midwood), Sarah Liebman (Mapleton Park), Terrance R. Lindall (Clinton Hill), Anthony Lloyd (Prospect Lefferts Gardens), Marcia Lloyd (Prospect Lefferts Gardens), Loreen Matsushima (Clinton Hill), Yuko Nii (Clinton Hill), Enock Placide (Cobble Hill), Drewann Rodney (Midwood), Ephraim Ivan Rubenstein (Prospect Park South), Noel Schneider (Manhattan Beach), Lucy Durand Sikes (Clinton Hill), Jack Sonnenschein (Park Slope), Lori Todd (Sheepshead Bay), Ira Vaupen (Brooklyn Heights), Leland Wallin (Brooklyn Heights), Lowell Warshawsky (Canarsie), Robert P. Weiss (Cobble Hill), and Oliver Yourke (Cobble Hill).

    Brooklyn Museum Archives. Records of the Department of Public Information. Press releases, 1971 - 1988. 1979, 001-2.
    View Original